ST_ami7b5

Anybody uses MSI Geforce GTX 1060 GAMING X 6G card?

I have no experience with the 1060,but I used an MSI gaming GTX 770 for a long time, it is still in use with a friend, I had no issues with quality.

I used a GTX 970 for a long time (not msi) and was very impressed and I understand the 1060 has better performance and with 6gb vram it has BoS covered currently to spare.

My experiences are a bit out of date, so wait for current user opinion before making any decision. What resolution are you intending to use?

Cheers Dakpilot

• Upvote 1

If you are upgrading from GTX 780ti the 1070 Would be the best (although more expensive) option, with release of 1070ti you may find some good bargains on standard 1070,which would be great for 1080p, the 1060 is also very good but not SUCH a big leap from GTX 780ti, of course these are just my opinions.. :)

Cheers Dakpilot

• Upvote 1

Don't need a leap Dak, but finaly a card that won't crash like 780s do in BoX(only)...

Thanks for your input, appreciated.

Edited by ST_ami7b5

I'm using it, same model (1060 6GB GamingX). I don't play SP, but I don't recall having any crashes. WOL crashes sometimes but I'm too far away (Brazil) and in general the crashes / freezes are on the looby or when I login in. During missions I seldom disco. September I had 19h of flight in WOL and 1 disco. Berloga the same thing. But they are both servers where my ping is 250+.

My VRAM goes around 3/3.5GB with settings in high or ultra (Kuban map with 16 planes and 500m). Frame rate at 60-59fps all the time. Some micro stutters (TrackIR 5) but I did not tested it properly, at all altitudes and I was at the deck at Kuban with Bf 110 and Pe-2.

Temperature around 57-65ºC (room temperature of 30ºC). With settings in ultra I get 55 to 85% GPU usage depending on the effects. Cockpit and fumes, bullets and fire gets to 85%. In general stays at 55-65%.