Sign in to follow this  
AndyJWest

Advice on landing the Fw-190

My advice is simple really. Watch this closely, and do something else...  ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dyllDcBNrc4

Came in way too fast, obviously. The only real question (other than whether I should give up sim flying and take up knitting instead :rolleyes: ) is whether I'd have been better off trying to go round after the initial bounce? I got away with it, but it could so easily have gone completely pear shaped, and there wasn't much runway remaining. Except that slamming the throttle full forward at stalling speed ten metres above the runway probably isn't wise either. What think you? Catch a bounce with throttle, and hope the torque doesn't kill you, or, carry on with the 'landing' and hope you don't stall too hard (I fed in a little power, though I suspect it made no real difference). Can so easily go wrong, either way...

Edited by AndyJWest

Hey Andy,

I am a RL pilot and I think where most people fall apart with sims is they cant feel what the plane is doing so we have to learn other ways of "feeling the aircraft". To practice landing you will want to fly a normal pattern around the airport. Usually a 1000Ft AGL but you can do it from 500 with these smaller planes. Pay attention to your airspeed and make sure you are trimmed for that airspeed. That means you arent fighting the stick to hold your attitude.

The key with landings is understanding you need to be stable on the approach. I cant say that enough! Power changes corrections etc will all cause you to balk the landing. Line up a few miles out and just let the plane get settled in and fly the approach speed all the way in with about a 3 degree nose down angle but that will depend on plane. When you get close to the ground the plane will want to float due to ground effect so at that point hold the nose up a bit and idle the throttle and let it settle on to the runway. Then use rudder and brakes to hold nose straight.