Sign in to follow this  
JG27_Targ

FW190 First impressions v2.007

The Butcher Bird can fight now as She was meant to.

Picks up energy fast in a dive, 2000M dive and you are close to 850KM an hour.

The roll rate is much more responsive. Helps in a scissor fight Helmet-21.gif

It holds energy much better now and can maintain 520KM in level flight sustained. Max the throttle out and you will do 550KM/HR.

A rotte of 4 pilots that fly the 190 well and employ realistic tactics will whoop tail now. Better run!

Fast test shows what I am talking about.

Also aim assist works now as well. Nice training tool.

Edited by 1./JG54_Lang

I'm with ya.

I joined JG 54 primarily because I'm a die hard 109 pilot and I wanted to learn the 190 after 10+ years of exclusivity flying the 109.

That said I never ever liked the 190 because in every sim up till now it's never really been that much better than contemporary 109s.

However after a few flights in this updated 190 I've got to say it's just better than the 109. Sure the 109 will turn better at low speeds and climb like a rocket-but in about everything else the 190 is superior.

It's just flat out awesome.

The roll rate has gone back to being pretty insane now that it doesn't stall and wobble so quickly.

I still think the 109 is the superior energy fighter, but the 190 is actually able to do something other than hit and run now, which is nice.

• Upvote 1

How much energy lol!

Above 400kph the 190 is in its element. Stable yet wickedly maneuverable.

Above 400 mph the 109 is starting to get a bit sluggish.

The 109 always seems in its fighting element between 300 and 400 kph. The 190 does it all just 100+ kph faster.

I don't think the roll rate or top speed has changed. If it has, it is only a small amount.

What has changed is that the FW-190 is now the vertical, high-speed energy fighter pilots describe. What immediately jumps out is ENERGY.

1. The CLmax correction is instantly noticeable.