Jump to content


Photo

Jade_Monkey's Single Player (SP) missions


  • Please log in to reply
118 replies to this topic

#81 DD_Arthur

DD_Arthur
  • Founder
  • Posts: 2191
  • Location:South West England

Posted 24 September 2017 - 02:03

I fly with no icons so the LW turned up once in my first five attempts.   Enabled waypoint icons and got this;

 

youtube.com/watch?v=AxNQgCmOt-A

 

:cool:

 

The start - with the scramble - is quite thrilling.  Would it be possible to start the mission slightly earlier - perhaps when the first flights engines are just about to start?  It would give more of a chance to take it all in :salute:   


  • 1

#82 keeno

keeno
  • Founder
  • Posts: 424

Posted 24 September 2017 - 16:52

Hey JM,

 

you are not wasting our time, even the mission as it is is still fun, great Battle of Britain style take off, staying in formation with no icons/full real is good and when you don't know the LW are not coming it's still ok searching until the fuel gets low and then it's RTB to practice landing........... still cool! 

 

Cheers


  • 1

#83 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 24 September 2017 - 22:57

Ok, I updated the Spitfire mission, and the last two Dropbox links just in case:

 

Download here

 

Changelog:

  • The enemy planes will show up regardless of whether you use the waypoints or play with no icons and choose your own route.
  • Added another flight of 3xJu88, the performance seems to be good.
  • The mission starts a bit earlier when all Spitfires have their engines off.
  • Added some cosmetic objects to the takeoff airfield: Fuel storage, more trucks moving, takeoff flare, landing fires.
  • Populated the airfield near the target (as in DD_Arthur's video). You can use it for emergency landings (mission complete will trigger), and the friendly AI will try to land there too if they are damaged.
  • Randomized the attack vector of the incoming bombers so they can come from two different directions. Each time you play the mission they might come from one of the two possible directions.

Edited by Jade_Monkey, 24 September 2017 - 22:57.

  • 1

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#84 Trooper117

Trooper117
  • Founder
  • Posts: 2098

Posted 25 September 2017 - 09:42

:good:


  • 0

IL2.jpg


#85 keeno

keeno
  • Founder
  • Posts: 424

Posted 25 September 2017 - 11:06

Brilliant JM,

 

Can't wait to try it out.

 

Cheers


  • 0

#86 gabuzomeu

gabuzomeu
  • Founder
  • Posts: 54

Posted 01 October 2017 - 21:24

Hello,

I tried to play the "capture seversk" mission, one of the rare tank SP mission; quite nice, and it seems broken, in the sense that the player is ignored by the adversary tanks and the player ammunition is almost ineffective against them, even at very short range/point blank.

I found nothing bizarre in the ME, but I am quite new to it.

Is it me or is there something?. 


  • 0

#87 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 02 October 2017 - 02:23

The Panzer III had a hard time penetrating soviet armor, especially KV1 and the T34. Its very noticeable in the game. 

The tank missions are a mission makers nightmare in this game, Ive triend to make a few more, that are more polished but it's just impossible due to the lack of time they have dedicated to the tank AI. For example they try to cross rivers and sink, they die if they bump into any object, etc.

 

I'll do more tank missions if they have time to work on the AI in the future.


Edited by Jade_Monkey, 02 October 2017 - 02:26.

  • 0

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#88 gabuzomeu

gabuzomeu
  • Founder
  • Posts: 54

Posted 02 October 2017 - 05:54

thanks for the answer, I guess I will go back to flying :-)
  • 0

#89 gabuzomeu

gabuzomeu
  • Founder
  • Posts: 54

Posted 02 October 2017 - 17:34

Actually I tried once again, and ,- this dev team is great-, today's update fixed the problem: likely was "shells disappearing" bug.

.


  • 0

#90 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 02 October 2017 - 22:45

ha! interesting, thanks for the update!


  • 0

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#91 Thad

Thad
  • Member
  • Posts: 837
  • Location:State Of Ohio, USA

Posted 03 October 2017 - 03:34

The Panzer III had a hard time penetrating soviet armor, especially KV1 and the T34. Its very noticeable in the game. 

The tank missions are a mission makers nightmare in this game, Ive triend to make a few more, that are more polished but it's just impossible due to the lack of time they have dedicated to the tank AI. For example they try to cross rivers and sink, they die if they bump into any object, etc.

 

I'll do more tank missions if they have time to work on the AI in the future.

Salutations,

 

Unfortunately, I have to agree with Jade_Monkey about the problematic implementation of the games armor. It requires a LOT of detailed vehicle routing to avoid them needlessly drowning and to avoid tanks run into others and exploding. That and the fact that the AI can fire and see through wooded areas, thus negating tactical use of such areas for concealment. The AI can apparently see though higher terrain too. As a result they fire into ground elevations at enemy tanks beyond the rises, thereby wasting ammunition. No to mention that there are only two tanks (one for each side) that a player can directly control. All in all, these problems make it very limiting and frustrating as a armor mission builder. :(


  • 0

Modules.jpg?dl=1Campaigns.png?dl=1

  Windows 10 64-Bit, AMD FX-8350, 32 GB RAM, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB @ 2560 x 1080 @ 60 Hz, Thrustmaster WCS HOTAS


#92 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 13 November 2017 - 00:54

New mission, Bf110 G2 naval interception.

 

 

Download from Dropbox

 

 

2cmkmqv.jpg


New mission:

 

Ju52 transport mission - Fallschirmjäger

 

Download from Dropbox

 

any92g.jpg


  • 3

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#93 katdog5

katdog5
  • Member
  • Posts: 234
  • Location:Atlanta, Georgia

Posted 13 November 2017 - 01:36

niiiiice


  • 0

i7-6700k @ 4.69Ghz / 1080GTX +10% / MSI z270 Gaming M7 / Oculus CV1 VR / 16GB DDR4 2850Hz / Corsair H100i v2 / CH Products / 1.7SS + SteamVR Beta / 2xAA / ASW Off / Advanced Super Sampling Disabled / Dynamic Resolution Factor .8 


#94 Trooper117

Trooper117
  • Founder
  • Posts: 2098

Posted 15 November 2017 - 18:04

Many thanks!


  • 0

IL2.jpg


#95 EAF51_Triple1

EAF51_Triple1
  • Member
  • Posts: 19
  • Location:ITALY

Posted 18 November 2017 - 19:01

Tanks !!! :biggrin:


  • 0

#96 Falcon41

Falcon41
  • Member
  • Posts: 16

Posted 30 November 2017 - 01:12

Jade Monkey,

     Just downloaded your mission pak and loved it.  Thanks for spending so much time making a set of great missions.  I particularly love the taxi to the runway portion as it makes me practice something I'm not particularly good at, but practice makes perfect ... RIGHT!!!!!!

 

FALCON41


  • 1

#97 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 30 November 2017 - 02:40

Many thanks Falcon41! I share a mission once in a while when I have time to put something together.

 

Yes taxiing takes a lot of practice but it really becomes second nature after a while (hint: go slow).


  • 0

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#98 Falcon41

Falcon41
  • Member
  • Posts: 16

Posted 30 November 2017 - 20:28

Just a quick question.  I've noticed that in any mission file there are numerious files with, what I presume to be different languages.  Is it OK to delete these, or are they needed for the mission to run?"

 

FALCON41


  • 0

#99 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 01 December 2017 - 01:13

I think they are needed, but they are very small, they should not take much space on your HDD.


  • 0

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#100 Falcon41

Falcon41
  • Member
  • Posts: 16

Posted 01 December 2017 - 15:44

Thanks, I just wasn't certain they were needed.  Enjoying your missions and BOS, BOM and MOK.  Much more imersive than the original IL-2 ... at least for me.
 

FALCON41


  • 0

#101 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 01 December 2017 - 15:58

I appreciate the feedback!
  • 0

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#102 Falcon41

Falcon41
  • Member
  • Posts: 16

Posted 03 December 2017 - 21:10

Jade Monkey, 

     Any recommendations with regard to the best resources for beginning to build missions and campaigns for BOS, BOM and/or BOK?  I've build both in IL-2 but haven't tried BOS, BOM or BOK as of yet and was wondering where to make my start.  Any help would be appreciated.

 

FALCON41


  • 0

#103 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 04 December 2017 - 01:24

I wasn't around for IL2 46, so I can't compare. I would say start with easy missions to get used to the triggers in the ME which is the essence of this ME.

 

There is a really comprehensive guide in this thread, that should explain how to do everything in the editor.

 

Once you have mastered a concept, (e.g. spawning a flight of enemies) i would recommend saving it as a group (select, right click, save as group) so you can just reuse it instead of building it every time.

There are also some pretty complex groups already created and shared in this thread.

 

Good luck with the mission building, it's a lot of fun!


Edited by Jade_Monkey, 04 December 2017 - 01:25.

  • 0

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#104 Falcon41

Falcon41
  • Member
  • Posts: 16

Posted 04 December 2017 - 19:55

Jade Monkey,

     Thanks for the links and info.  Looking forward to more of your missons and building my own.

 

FALCON41


  • 0

#105 keeno

keeno
  • Founder
  • Posts: 424

Posted 07 December 2017 - 21:45

Hey Jade,

 

just playing through your single missions, some for second or third time, thanks again they really are awesome.

 

Cheers


  • 1

#106 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 08 December 2017 - 15:45

Thanks keeno!
  • 0

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#107 Falcon41

Falcon41
  • Member
  • Posts: 16

Posted 10 December 2017 - 17:10

Jade Monkey, 

     I've been working with the ME and I found that some of the instructions in Prangster's Mission Building Guide are different than my edition of the ME.  Is this due to changes in the format of BOS, i.e., the version of the game in which  I'm building missions?  If this is the case is there a forum where changes to the ME are discussed?


  • 0

#108 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 10 December 2017 - 17:12

Hi Falcon41,

 

Can you give some details of what's different?

I think most things stayed the same with the exception of a couple of minor details in the complex triggers.


  • 0

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#109 Falcon41

Falcon41
  • Member
  • Posts: 16

Posted 11 December 2017 - 14:12

Jade Monkey,

     Well I noticed that when I attempted to "Target Link" one aircraft to a leader, I had to open the Advanced properties differently.  I had to select the Object Menu and then click on Add Object or Add Target.  I know its a minor difference, but I was just wondering as I'm just getting into the ME


  • 0

#110 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 11 December 2017 - 14:25

Just use Shift+T for target and Shift+O for objects. It will save you a lot of time clicking around.

Also, save your progress frequently (Ctrl+S). The editor has a tendency to crash and you dont want to lose all that work.
  • 0

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#111 Falcon41

Falcon41
  • Member
  • Posts: 16

Posted 11 December 2017 - 18:42

Jade Monkey 

     Thanks for the tips.  


  • 0

#112 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 12 December 2017 - 21:51

Inspired by other people's personal sites, I created my own site. Mostly just to learn how to make a website, the whole process of getting a domain etc... 

I decided to make my own hangar with my SP missions, campaigns, skins (WIP), pictures, and videos.

 

https://www.jmhangar.com

 

I will still post everything here as well.


  • 3

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#113 Falcon41

Falcon41
  • Member
  • Posts: 16

Posted 12 December 2017 - 22:44

JM

     I'm running our to patience.  It seems I cannot get a wingman to takeoff atfter me in the mission I'm building.  I've target linked the wingman to my aircraft, but somehow I can't get the plane to follow.  I can play the mission myself but would like the wingman to help.  Any ideas what I might have not done?


  • 0

#114 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 13 December 2017 - 00:46

JM

     I'm running our to patience.  It seems I cannot get a wingman to takeoff atfter me in the mission I'm building.  I've target linked the wingman to my aircraft, but somehow I can't get the plane to follow.  I can play the mission myself but would like the wingman to help.  Any ideas what I might have not done?

 

For AI to take off and land, you need to give them and explicit order.

Try this:

 

Mission begin --> Timer (4s) --> Take off (object to leader [you]).

 

They wont take off before you, so just take off when you are ready.


  • 0

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#115 Falcon41

Falcon41
  • Member
  • Posts: 16

Posted 13 December 2017 - 18:45

Thanks for the help Jade Monkey, much appreciated.  Just went to your website and really enjoyed looking at the pics and the wide variety of missions, etc.  How long did it take you to master the ME and all the complicated logic associated with the ME?  I can now understand some of the complaints put down in several forums regarding the ME ... it really is more complex than the original IL-2 mission building.


  • 0

#116 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 15 December 2017 - 01:12

I'm not sure how long it took me, I'd say months to get over the biggest part of the learning curve. Still learning though.

 

The first complete mission is the hardest. After that it gets a lot easier. :salute:


  • 0

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#117 =WFPK=Wanganui_Wildcat

=WFPK=Wanganui_Wildcat
  • Member
  • Posts: 191

Posted 05 January 2018 - 21:47

Hi Jade Monkey,

 

Your missions look amazing! I know in the readme it says you don't mind if the missions are re purposed but I wanted to make sure that is still the case? The mission editor is a tough beast to tame! Also do you do requests for missions? I am trying and failing to make some single player missions that would probably take you all of about five minutes to make? 


  • 0

"I've personally flown over 194 missions and I was shot down on every one of them. Come to think of it, I've never landed a plane in my life."

- Adm. Thomas 'Tug' Benson


#118 Jade_Monkey

Jade_Monkey
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3733

Posted 06 January 2018 - 16:55

Hi Jade Monkey,

 

Your missions look amazing! I know in the readme it says you don't mind if the missions are re purposed but I wanted to make sure that is still the case? The mission editor is a tough beast to tame! Also do you do requests for missions? I am trying and failing to make some single player missions that would probably take you all of about five minutes to make? 

 

Yes still the case.

 

Feel free to send me a PM with the details and I'll gladly make you a few missions.


  • 1

i7 7700k  | GTX 1080 Ti |   16GB Corsair Dominator DDR4  |  LG 34UM95 3440x1440 | HTC Vive | TrackIR 5  |  Saitek X-55 HOTAS  |  MFG Crosswind graphite pedals


#119 =WFPK=Wanganui_Wildcat

=WFPK=Wanganui_Wildcat
  • Member
  • Posts: 191

Posted 06 January 2018 - 21:21

Yes still the case.

 

Feel free to send me a PM with the details and I'll gladly make you a few missions.

 

Brilliant, Thank you so much, I will pm you!


  • 0

"I've personally flown over 194 missions and I was shot down on every one of them. Come to think of it, I've never landed a plane in my life."

- Adm. Thomas 'Tug' Benson





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users