GrendelsDad

The New Gun Sounds...

88 members have voted

1. 1. How do you like the new gun sounds?

• They are great!
    • Big improvement on what we had. (maybe needs minor update) please explain
    • Give me the old sounds back

How do you like the new gun sounds...I find them much better than before...my only issue is that it's a bit loud for my taste. I will take it over the old sounds for sure. Please add any feedback as well.

Edited by II./ZG1_GrendelsDad

A slider to adjust gun sounds volume would be great. Other than that they`re great.

• Upvote 1

Very Hollywood-ish.

Which is a both a plus and minus.

Plus, because, yes, they sound compelling --- nice and loud with the metallic clink of spent round being ejected.

Minus because it is entirely unrealistic! While I have no first-hand experience IRL, every account I've read that says something about the sound of guns firing indicates you do not really hear very much inside the cockpit over the sound of the engines. That's only in movies and in over-dubbed newsreel footage.

At the other extreme, check out the DCS Bf-109 5tuka has a authentic DB sound mod. The first time I tried it I was surprised and disappointed that I could not hear the guns at all! But I was reassured that this was more realistic, and I accept that. However, it does throw you off at a visceral level not being able to get audio feedback when firing ... especially when you miss!

So the question is, do you want realism/authenticity or Hollywood hyper-reality? 

• Upvote 1

Well, in my opinion, at the end of the day it is a game after all, so I would go with half way between hyper-reality and realism.

The new sounds are better than what we had, and they are better than not being able to hear anything.

A volume slider to adjust volume would keep those that don't like the new sounds happy (or as close to happy as they can be).

:drinks:

Edited by MF-beepee
  • Upvote 1