I believe his reference is to Frostbite 3 game engine not Battlefield 1 game. 

Looks nice.  I'm not sure how well it would translate over to a vastly more complex physics model type game, but I'm no programmer - lol.

These game engines are utterly useless for a sim. If they make something new, it should be an engine that tolerates a world based on a world geodetoc system like WGS 84. Anything else is just more eyecandy while delivering zero new aspects to gameplay. It's just not worth it drawing everything new for a new engine that is made to look to make the world look good as far as you can spit.

If you can map your "gamelevels" on a world, whole new possibilities for gameplay (mission making!) emerge. If you make rivets reflecting more beautifully, you win nothing for gameplay.

Honestly I would hate for graphics to turn out that way. One of the things I genuinely love about this Il-2 is how they managed to make the world look real, and good, without resorting to overly glossy colours and all that jazz. If a golden wheat field is moderately dull and burnt out, that's how it looks in game. If something is beautiful in real life - like Moscow, for example - it will look beautiful in game too. :)

Honestly I would hate for graphics to turn out that way. One of the things I genuinely love about this Il-2 is how they managed to make the world look real, and good, without resorting to overly glossy colours and all that jazz. If a golden wheat field is moderately dull and burnt out, that's how it looks in game. If something is beautiful in real life - like Moscow, for example - it will look beautiful in game too. :)

Yes, in theory. I think the way DN renders terrain (especially ground "noise", and the way it receives and reflects light) in BoS/BoM is still looking quite synthetic, so to speak...

And speaking of glossy, we still have these screen-space reflections making airframes look so silly... I can understand artistic licenses, but eh...

Edited by Picchio