Sign in to follow this  
liamp51

Comments, Criticisms, Suggestions, Question(s)

Hello all,

This is my first time posting here. I apologize if a post similar to this already exists, but I'm going to make one anyway. 

A little background on me first...

I played IL-2 Sturmovik 1946 for many years back in its "glory" days I guess you could say. The days when you could log into Hyperlobby and see 900+ people in game. Man do I miss those days...
I think the thing that really made the old IL-2 for me wasn't so much the number of players, but the variety of maps, aircraft, and mission options. Now I understand that New IL-2 (as it shall henceforth be referred to) only came out about 3 years ago, and that it is a far more technically complicated effort, but there is a glaring lack in overall content. 

Now I know this is bound to upset some, but I think this criticism is warranted. We really only have two combat areas, (Moscow and Stalingrad), a handful of aircraft, and a very lackluster campaign system. Again, I understand that this sim, overall, is a much more complicated and "authentic" experience (maps historically accurate down to tiny details like the true to life runway surface etc.), but I still find myself aching for more. That brings me to my next point: pricing. 

I'll be frank, I believe the price point for this sim is a bit outrageous. $50USD for the standard edition is understandable, (personally I think it should be more in the $30 neighborhood), but $80USD for the Premium edition is insane. Now I say that solely based on the amount of content the extra $30USD gets the player. Not to mention the fact that founding members who paid $80USD for the beta/alpha didn't get any kind of discount for the upcoming BoM release. And at the end of the day, all we really get is a couple more flyable aircraft and maps.