N1SB.Jefu

Navigating Stalingrad

I'm half relieved and half terrified that the ability to navigate via the map icon has been removed.

I have some experience with air navigation from Cliffs, with the small caveat that when flying over the southern coast of the United Kingdom, it's very difficult to not know where you are. In BoS I'm currently choosing my destination, choosing my heading, crossing my fingers I get there or I'm lost. My only salvation is to hopefully find the Volga.

Don't get me wrong, I'm almost certain that the Luftwaffe found this battlefield to be a navigational nightmare and the navigational aspect of the game is essential in a sim, but if anyone has any advice on how to get my bearings quicker, I would appreciate it!

Edited by N1SB.Jefu

Yes. But it is much more rewarding when you get to where you wanted to go. For me, pressing "O" and comparing the tree lines depicted on the map to what I see below works 90% of the time. The outlines on the map are an exact matches to what is on the ground. Even the troops back in the day didn't have this luxury. There are many spots where trees are bunched in really discernible patterns like being squarish or thick lines.

Why can't a sim just give us a map that we can use and shows our position, and still be on Expert settings? I know this is a simulator and all, but I'm more interested in aircraft simulation than I am in a map navigation sim.

Roads and trainlines work quite well for nav purposes. Once you fly around a bit you kind of get to know the place.

Edited by 19te.Leaf

Now, you must be talking about multiplayer, right? Because in single player, now we're forced to see navigation icons, which is very annoying IMO.

Why can't a sim just give us a map that we can use and shows our position, and still be on Expert settings? I know this is a simulator and all, but I'm more interested in aircraft simulation than I am in a map navigation sim.