Jump to content


Photo

You also think BOS is Beautiful? How about making it ABSOLUTLY GORGEOUS! *Instructions inside*


Best Answer =LD=Hethwill_Khan , 10 November 2014 - 01:06

S!

 

 Does the DXsemantics file do anything? At least it has the values there, like tessellation factor at 8 etc. Some quick googling and reading up on it at gamedev/MS pages said the tessellation factor can be from 0 to 64.

 

POSITION = 0
BLENDWEIGHT = 1
BLENDINDICES = 2
NORMAL = 3
PSIZE = 4
TEXCOORD = 5
TANGENT = 6
BINORMAL = 7
TESSFACTOR = 8
POSITIONT = 9
COLOR = 10
FOG = 11
DEPTH = 12
SAMPLE = 13
 

 

These a related directly to DirectX use.

 

http://msdn.microsof...7(v=vs.85).aspx

 

then more in depth for each

http://msdn.microsof...7(v=vs.85).aspx

 

guess the 0 to 64 can be used of course but implies proper DX coding in the engine ? No idea, not my area of expertise.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
414 replies to this topic

#1 =LD=Penshoon

=LD=Penshoon
  • Founder
  • Posts: 342

Posted 02 November 2014 - 17:17

*
POPULAR

Evening pilots, gamers, cats and dogs!   ;)  Here comes the sales pitch!  :biggrin:

 

Do you have trouble orienting yourself at high altitude around Stalingrad? Cities or forests on the map looking nothing like the blurry patch you see in your window?

 

Then I've got the solution for you!

 

With a simple .ini file edit your digital Stalingrad can transform from this:

1r7syz.png

 

INTO THIS!!!:

2a7sgb.png

 

WOW! Much better!

 

Screenshots doesn't do the game justice! The difference is even bigger in game. The game simply looks even more beautiful now! Navigating by the map becomes so much easier and after seeing the map from high above in full resolution I now have a much better picture of the different landmarks to navigate by. Forests and cities always looks the same as on the map instead of the useless blurry patches that they become when far away.

 

Now this could have some adverse effects depending on your resolution but now you can fine tune the terrain LOD to match your FOV and resolution of your monitor. 

 

Disclaimer: Always make a backup of any data file you intend to edit without knowing the effect of it. Just copy the file to your desktop before you change anything and if it goes wrong, just drag it back and replace the edited file and everything is back as usual. 

 

Step one:

Navigate to your BOS graphics folder. Default should be:

C:\Program Files\IL-2 Sturmovik Battle of Stalingrad\data\graphics\

Steam version should be:

C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\common\IL-2 Sturmovik Battle of Stalingrad\data\graphics\

Find and open the file called "terrain.ini" with notepad. It should only contain a few lines of text like below:

PixelSize=50 //meters


LodCount=5


texlod=4096,8
texlod=2048,8
texlod=2048,8
texlod=2048,8
texlod=1024,16
The last line "texlod=1024,16" is whats causing the blurring, change it to: 
texlod=2048,8

And your are set! Just start the game as usual. If you are running at a higher resolution like 1440p or maybe even 4K you could just change all lines to texlod=4096,8 and get the full resolution like on the pic above  but that might cause annoying texture shimmering at low altitude unless you are playing at a very low FOV/Zoom.

 

I would recommend starting by changing the last line into texlod=2048,8 and if you don't see shimmer when at low altitude you can start changing one line at a time to texlod=4096,8 starting from the top and trying it out in game.

 

Test what works for you and post what lines was the best for your resolution. I play on 1440p and all lines on texlod=4096,8. 

 

Also The FPS loss wasn't even measurable for me! But if your GPU already your bottleneck you might loose a few frames though.

 

Oh and last word to our favorite 777 Devs! 

 

Pretty please, Don't patch this away. After seeing the game like this I can't imagine going back. The game simply looks too good now! 

 

 

See you in the sky!

 


  • 50

My YouTube channel


#2 JG19_Leaf

JG19_Leaf
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1047
  • Location:Branching out

Posted 02 November 2014 - 17:23

I love you. 


  • 2

#3 =LD=Penshoon

=LD=Penshoon
  • Founder
  • Posts: 342

Posted 02 November 2014 - 17:24

I love you. 

I love everyone here  :biggrin:


  • 0

My YouTube channel


#4 Livai

Livai
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1140

Posted 02 November 2014 - 17:33

Or change like that:


PixelSize=50 //meters


LodCount=5 // texlod???


texlod=8192,8
texlod=4096,8
texlod=4096,8
texlod=4096,8
texlod=2048,8

  • 2

#5 -NW-ChiefRedCloud

-NW-ChiefRedCloud
  • Founder
  • Posts: 894
  • Location:Waleska Georgia, America

Posted 02 November 2014 - 17:39

Will have to give this a try ... thanks

 

Chief


  • 0

NEtALER.png

NEW WINGS VIRTUAL FLIGHT TRAINING

"Hardcore Through Passion"


#6 Yakdriver

Yakdriver
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1607
  • Location:Як-1б

Posted 02 November 2014 - 17:41

lol.
good one.
i like it...

i have very little use for it as i am a "down below" flier but... i will keep it.
gotta fill the Video memory and all that :D


  • 0

sig.png


#7 IIN8II

IIN8II
  • Founder
  • Posts: 552
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted 02 November 2014 - 17:45

Fantastic, I had been waiting for that to be fixed. I'll give this a try.


  • 0

#8 II./JG77_Manu*

II./JG77_Manu*
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1578

Posted 02 November 2014 - 17:49

awesome!! this was actually my biggest problem i had with this game! wohooo thx a lot  :biggrin:  :biggrin:  :biggrin:  :biggrin:


  • 0

#9 LuSi_6

LuSi_6
  • Founder
  • Posts: 141

Posted 02 November 2014 - 18:04

:o:

 

 

 

give this man a cookie!


  • 0

LaGG-3 -->> 5pdg2arm.jpg  <<-- Master Race

i5 4570 | GTX 750TI | 8GB | SSD | 24" | X-55 Rhino | Saitek Rudders | TIR 5 proClip


#10 6./ZG26_5tuka

6./ZG26_5tuka
  • Tester
  • Posts: 3915
  • Location:Germany

Posted 02 November 2014 - 18:11

Yep, change to 8 K guys, here' smy comparison (sry for large pics):

 

standard 4 k resolution:

Spoiler

8k

Spoiler

 

I notice a slight FPS loss but it's pretty much neglectable (max 10 FPS when fully zoomed in).


Edited by [Jg26]5tuka, 02 November 2014 - 18:13.

  • 0

  YdcExnd.jpg Ju 87 D-3 4K Skin Template
Beta Tester Ju-52 Early Supporter Ju 52/3m g4 4K Skin Template


#11 TG-55Panthercules

TG-55Panthercules
  • Founder
  • Posts: 833

Posted 02 November 2014 - 18:17

Hmmm - I tried this and I guess it did look OK from about 2500m, which is high as my Stuka flew on my campaign mission (it looked good, but I couldn't really tell if it looked better than before).  I was planning to go back and load the stock version to compare it, but as I was coming back to base I noticed that it didn't look very good once I got down below about 1000m - it was like I was traveling in a bubble where there was this very blurry line/circle all around me where it very obviously went from nice and crisp to blurry.  I could see things come out of the blur as I looked forwards and flew towards them, and watch them go into the blur as I looked backwards.  I really don't remember seeing that effect before with the stock version, but I'm going to go back in and test it to see if I just wasn't remembering it right.

 

I applaud the effort, and I hope that something like this will work, but it looks like it may need some more tweaking, at least on my rig.  I'm running with Ultra preset, BTW, trying to figure out if the weird "creases in the sky" effect I've seen lately is a function of the other presets I was testing or not.


Edited by TG-55Panthercules, 02 November 2014 - 18:19.

  • 0
Intel Core i7-7700K @ 4.6 GHz (Corsair liquid cooler); 16GB RAM (Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200MHz)
EVGA GTX 1080 TI SC2, 11 GB; ASUS ROG Maximus IX Code MB; Realtek ROG SupremeFX audio
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit; Oculus Rift (CV1); Logitech Force 3D Pro; Saitek Rudder Pedals and Throttle Quadrants

#12 6./ZG26_5tuka

6./ZG26_5tuka
  • Tester
  • Posts: 3915
  • Location:Germany

Posted 02 November 2014 - 18:26

Seems like 8k is the max. tested 16k (I'm crazy I know) and noticed no benefit in quality over 8k. I also suffered from some "hickups" and struttering while overall FPS were smooth and well.


  • 0

  YdcExnd.jpg Ju 87 D-3 4K Skin Template
Beta Tester Ju-52 Early Supporter Ju 52/3m g4 4K Skin Template


#13 chris455

chris455
  • Member
  • Posts: 238
  • Location:San Diego, California

Posted 02 November 2014 - 18:48

Tested @ 4096,8 for all lines and I must say, I'm impressed........................

This may have ramifications for pilotage (navigation by landmark) since the terrain features are now much more sharply delineated.

Great job!


  • 0

#14 =LD=Penshoon

=LD=Penshoon
  • Founder
  • Posts: 342

Posted 02 November 2014 - 18:59

Yeah, got lots or shimmering with

texlod=8192,8
texlod=4096,8
texlod=4096,8
texlod=4096,8
texlod=4096,8
 
Had to use 50% FOV/zoom to make it stop, was also very close to filling the 3gb vram on my card.
 
All texlod=4096,8 seems the sweet spot for 1440p@maxFOV.

  • 0

My YouTube channel


#15 LLv34_Flanker

LLv34_Flanker
  • Founder
  • Posts: 2603
  • Location:Arctic Circle

Posted 02 November 2014 - 19:01

S!

 

 Indeed an amazingly better result! Even with using the value OP posted. No more blurry tiles, but I could finally see! Now devs,please consider adjustable graphics settings! It would be worth it, really. Is that number behind the texture resolution the amount of anisotropic filtering added, 8X / 16X?


Edited by LLv34_Flanker, 02 November 2014 - 19:07.

  • 0

Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, Intel i7 6700K 4.00GHz, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP Edition 8Gb, ASUS Z170-WS motherboard, Kingston HyperX Predator 3200MHz 16Gb DDR4, ASUS Xonar sound, AOC AG271QG 27" 165Hz GSync display, Samsung 950 Pro 256Gb M.2 SSD x 2, ASUS Sica gaming mouse, Logitech G105 keyboard; Stick, throttle and pedals pending.  


#16 wellenbrecher

wellenbrecher
  • Founder
  • Posts: 421
  • Location:Grafschaft Mark

Posted 02 November 2014 - 19:01

Sweet!

Let's hope they don't patch it out.


  • 0
 

Judging a game by the scores from Metacritic's population of zit pickers, kiddy fiddlers and closet nazis is like gauging a racial minority's right to exist based solely on youtube comments

 


#17 Wildbill

Wildbill
  • Founder
  • Posts: 21
  • Location:Cordova TN

Posted 02 November 2014 - 19:27

=LD=Penshoon,

 

This worked for me thank you!

Bill


  • 0

#18 12.OIAE_Snake9

12.OIAE_Snake9
  • Founder
  • Posts: 598
  • Location:North Carolina, US

Posted 02 November 2014 - 19:43

Just want to say thank you.  I play with balanced graphics and I always thought the burry images was because I wasn't on ultra.  Looks so much better.  Makes navigating so much easier due to the identification of long distance landmarks.  This change did not put any undue stress on my system. 

 

This is the kind of options we need to really enjoy this game.  Let us decide what looks good on our computers.  We need more options like this.   


  • 0

Trim still not on axis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Still? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Really?


#19 AndyHill

AndyHill
  • Founder
  • Posts: 349

Posted 02 November 2014 - 19:48

Wow this is great! However, it's just too great for us to have, so expect your wish not granted in 3...2...1...


  • 0

intel i7 2600K@4.2GHZ, nVidia GTX690, 16GB RAM

Windows 7 Ultimate 64

nVidia surround 5760 X 1080 resolution + a 1920 X 1080 touchscreen monitor


#20 Gambit21

Gambit21
  • Tester
  • Posts: 3511
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 02 November 2014 - 19:49

I'll try this - thanks.

Can someone link to that other thread with the .ini fix for brightness I think it was? (or just remind me of the fix)

I can't find it.


  • 0
Posted Image Coming soon...Warrant Officer 'Yamaha Kawasaki' on the loose again! Posted Image

#21 =LD=dhyran

=LD=dhyran
  • Tester
  • Posts: 329
  • Location:northwest germany, where the cows are realy black and white

Posted 02 November 2014 - 20:00

Best post in that forum since 6 month!!!!!!

AMAZING RESULT!!!!
  • 0

dhyran - CO ~<<~Loose Deuce~>>~ www.loose-deuce.net/ ~ Fly smart - fly tactical - fly together ~

LD-BOS-sig-il2-forum2_top.jpg

LD-BOS-sig-il2-forum2_bottom.jpg


#22 Trooper117

Trooper117
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1948

Posted 02 November 2014 - 20:01

Will try this when I get back home in a couple of days... (unless someone puts a block on it) :)
  • 0

IL2.jpg


#23 =LD=Penshoon

=LD=Penshoon
  • Founder
  • Posts: 342

Posted 02 November 2014 - 20:27

Anyone speak Russian here? Google translated the post to put it on .RU forum, does it make any sense at all?  :lol:

 

http://forum.il2stur...grafika-v-bos/ 

 

 


  • 0

My YouTube channel


#24 Pupo

Pupo
  • Founder
  • Posts: 276
  • Location:Little Spain

Posted 02 November 2014 - 20:28

this is amazing... the only thing the game was graphically unimpressive was view distance....

 

thank you

 

please don't fix Devs.


  • 0

#25 =LD=Hethwill_Khan

=LD=Hethwill_Khan
  • Founder
  • Posts: 974
  • Location:Lusitania

Posted 02 November 2014 - 21:23

Best post in that forum since 6 month!!!!!!

AMAZING RESULT!!!!

 

Seconded.


  • 0

#26 avlSteve

avlSteve
  • Founder
  • Posts: 420
  • Location:Asheville NC, USA

Posted 02 November 2014 - 21:27

So much better.  What a great find!


  • 0

Windows 10 64 bit | MSI 990 FXA-GD80 Mainboard | AMD 8350 8 Core ~4.0GHz | Viper 3 DDR3 16GB @ 2.4GHz | Radeon R9 290 OC 4GB GDDR5 | Samsung 250 GB SSD | WDC 2 TB HDD | iHAS124 DVD-ROM | Thermaltake M850W PS | Corsair Hydro Series H80i Liquid CPU Cooler | LG 27EA83RD Monitor @ 2560 x 1440 Displayport | Logitech G105 Gaming Keyboard | Logitech G135 Headset | CH Fighterstick | Saitek Pro Flight Combat Pedals | Saitek Throttle Quad | TrackIR 5 


#27 Feathered_IV

Feathered_IV
  • Founder
  • Posts: 4386
  • Location:Girt by Sea

Posted 02 November 2014 - 21:29

That looks great. Looking forward to trying it out tonight.
  • 0
"Nineteen years of age, eight years public education, three years military service. Intelligent, normally observant and answered all questions freely. He was arrogant and proud to be a pilot. Fellow prisoners in hospital consider him mentally unstable..."

#28 TG-55Panthercules

TG-55Panthercules
  • Founder
  • Posts: 833

Posted 02 November 2014 - 21:41

That is exactly the effect that this change to the .ini file eliminates.

Maybe check to see that you saved the file correctly ... ?

 

Yeah - I saved it properly (but doesn't hurt to check).

 

The first time I was running exactly the settings in the OP.  This time, I changed it so all settings were 4096,8 and tried it again.  And again, I was getting the "blur bubble".  I took a couple of screenshots from the gunner's position (wanted to show what it looked like from inside the cockpit, and it's clearest looking backward as you watch the blur line creep forward as you fly):

 

First shot - you can clearly see the blur line cutting across the forest as shown by the red arrow:

BoS-terraininitest1.jpg

 

 

Second shot - you can see how the blur line has advanced as the plane has flown along a bit:

BoS-terraininitest2.jpg

 

 

Gonna go back in and test with the stock file again to see if it's been there all along and I just haven't noticed it before.


  • 0
Intel Core i7-7700K @ 4.6 GHz (Corsair liquid cooler); 16GB RAM (Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200MHz)
EVGA GTX 1080 TI SC2, 11 GB; ASUS ROG Maximus IX Code MB; Realtek ROG SupremeFX audio
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit; Oculus Rift (CV1); Logitech Force 3D Pro; Saitek Rudder Pedals and Throttle Quadrants

#29 AndyHill

AndyHill
  • Founder
  • Posts: 349

Posted 02 November 2014 - 21:46

Did I already mention how epic this find is? I'm running all 4096, which seems to work fine with my equipment at least in initial testing. This is really good on a 3-screen setup as well (which means it's probably getting thermonuclear treatment from the devs), I have had no problems so far even at wide FOW.


  • 0

intel i7 2600K@4.2GHZ, nVidia GTX690, 16GB RAM

Windows 7 Ultimate 64

nVidia surround 5760 X 1080 resolution + a 1920 X 1080 touchscreen monitor


#30 SissiSaatana

SissiSaatana
  • Founder
  • Posts: 6

Posted 02 November 2014 - 21:52

omg cant wait to try this, this has been disturbing me really much if this fix this I cant say anything else except thank you kind sir!

 

ps. have a cookie


Edited by SissiSaatana, 02 November 2014 - 21:53.

  • 0

#31 PB0_Foxy

PB0_Foxy
  • Founder
  • Posts: 783
  • Location:Paris

Posted 02 November 2014 - 21:52

Thank you so much !!
I was upset by that blurry square all around me and now it's gonna be way better !
  • 0

#32 avlSteve

avlSteve
  • Founder
  • Posts: 420
  • Location:Asheville NC, USA

Posted 02 November 2014 - 21:56

Been messing with this since I saw the post.  Epic is the word.


  • 0

Windows 10 64 bit | MSI 990 FXA-GD80 Mainboard | AMD 8350 8 Core ~4.0GHz | Viper 3 DDR3 16GB @ 2.4GHz | Radeon R9 290 OC 4GB GDDR5 | Samsung 250 GB SSD | WDC 2 TB HDD | iHAS124 DVD-ROM | Thermaltake M850W PS | Corsair Hydro Series H80i Liquid CPU Cooler | LG 27EA83RD Monitor @ 2560 x 1440 Displayport | Logitech G105 Gaming Keyboard | Logitech G135 Headset | CH Fighterstick | Saitek Pro Flight Combat Pedals | Saitek Throttle Quad | TrackIR 5 


#33 TunaEatsLion

TunaEatsLion
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1257

Posted 02 November 2014 - 21:57

[quote name="=LD=Hethwill_Khan" post="194430" timestamp="1414963385"]

Thirded... looks better. Absolutely! Give them 24 hours for patch to wipe clean this thread and your memory of this topic...even though I see nothing wrong with allowing this.
  • 0

#34 Finkeren

Finkeren
  • Founder
  • Posts: 8327
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark

Posted 02 November 2014 - 21:59

Great find!

ps. have a cookie

Have one from me as well:

Lancaster_I_NG128_Dropping_Blockbuster_-

Edited by Finkeren, 02 November 2014 - 22:04.

  • 0

MiG-3                

The P-51 won the war.


#35 LAL_Trinkof

LAL_Trinkof
  • Founder
  • Posts: 486
  • Location:Grenoble, France

Posted 02 November 2014 - 22:09

Yeah - I saved it properly (but doesn't hurt to check).

 

The first time I was running exactly the settings in the OP.  This time, I changed it so all settings were 4096,8 and tried it again.  And again, I was getting the "blur bubble".  I took a couple of screenshots from the gunner's position (wanted to show what it looked like from inside the cockpit, and it's clearest looking backward as you watch the blur line creep forward as you fly):

 

First shot - you can clearly see the blur line cutting across the forest as shown by the red arrow:

BoS-terraininitest1.jpg

 

 

Second shot - you can see how the blur line has advanced as the plane has flown along a bit:

BoS-terraininitest2.jpg

 

 

Gonna go back in and test with the stock file again to see if it's been there all along and I just haven't noticed it before.

what you se is not the blur, it is just the texture replacing the missing trees due to the Vision distance of the game. For this there is no fix at the moment


  • 0

planka_blue.png


#36 Tektolnes

Tektolnes
  • Founder
  • Posts: 460

Posted 02 November 2014 - 22:11

Nice find though I fear it won't last long. Mother Russia seems intent on choking the life out of any way for us to improve how our own game looks.


  • 0

#37 AndyHill

AndyHill
  • Founder
  • Posts: 349

Posted 02 November 2014 - 22:16

The reason you are picking up the trees disappearing after the mod might be that now the texture below the trees isn't a total blur so you actually notice it. Someone should confirm, though.

 

If you want to see the trees further away, just go to advanced opt... Oh yeah, sorry, forgot about that one for a while now that we actually have one way to make the game look better.


  • 1

intel i7 2600K@4.2GHZ, nVidia GTX690, 16GB RAM

Windows 7 Ultimate 64

nVidia surround 5760 X 1080 resolution + a 1920 X 1080 touchscreen monitor


#38 Pupo

Pupo
  • Founder
  • Posts: 276
  • Location:Little Spain

Posted 02 November 2014 - 22:26

what andy is suggesting is true. Trees now "seem" to disappear closer, because the environment is more clearly seen. if the devs could give us editable graphics settigns we could get over this like in ROF...


  • 0

#39 =LD=dhyran

=LD=dhyran
  • Tester
  • Posts: 329
  • Location:northwest germany, where the cows are realy black and white

Posted 02 November 2014 - 22:33

end up on that one

PixelSize=50 //meters

LodCount=5

texlod=4096,8
texlod=4096,8
texlod=4096,8
texlod=4096,8
texlod=4096,8


No FPS loss was measurable for me on my 780Ti


Edited by =LD=dhyran, 03 November 2014 - 10:46.

  • 0

dhyran - CO ~<<~Loose Deuce~>>~ www.loose-deuce.net/ ~ Fly smart - fly tactical - fly together ~

LD-BOS-sig-il2-forum2_top.jpg

LD-BOS-sig-il2-forum2_bottom.jpg


#40 TG-55Panthercules

TG-55Panthercules
  • Founder
  • Posts: 833

Posted 02 November 2014 - 22:47

what you se is not the blur, it is just the texture replacing the missing trees due to the Vision distance of the game. For this there is no fix at the moment

 

Ah - OK - the farther away stuff just looks blurrier to me than the nearer stuff, so I was calling it the blur.  In any event, I also saw it when I went back in and tested the stock/original terrain.ini file - guess I just hadn't looked that hard at those areas before.  

 

Maybe it's just me and my poor eyes, but I'm still not getting the benefit here, and if it's making the disappearing tree issue worse and that's what I'm seeing then it's like a double whammy.

 

I've been running my tests while grinding through campaign missions though, with different times of day and lighting and weather and stuff, so maybe that's masking some of what I'm seeing - guess I'll go run some tests with the same quick mission conditions each time and maybe that will help me figure out what's happening here.


  • 0
Intel Core i7-7700K @ 4.6 GHz (Corsair liquid cooler); 16GB RAM (Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200MHz)
EVGA GTX 1080 TI SC2, 11 GB; ASUS ROG Maximus IX Code MB; Realtek ROG SupremeFX audio
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit; Oculus Rift (CV1); Logitech Force 3D Pro; Saitek Rudder Pedals and Throttle Quadrants




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users