Sign in to follow this  
Fightn_Irish

Important Control Actions

I am kinda new to flight sims and I was wondering if anyone would help me out if its not too much hassle by listing Important Control Actions, all I know is throttle, open fire and to move left, right, ascend and descend, oh yea and to open the landing gear. There are so many controls in the settings I don't know which ones are important, when I look at them I get all flustered. 

I have a Saitek x55 Rhino which has the 3 programmable modes. I was reading in the forms that people have configured their mode 1 to take off, mode 2 to flying and mode 3 was combat as far as I can remember. Sounds like a good idea.

Your help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Edited by Fightn_Irish

Whew,  I suggest you keep it simple to start with if you are just starting out on flight sims..  Changing modes can get very confusing very fast.  Most of the controls and actions you see on the control menu are for highly complex engine and flight management.  If you are just learning flight sims, things like oil radiator settings and mixture control will just frustrate and confuse you.  'Sounds like you have the basic controls down, I suggest that you use the sim on the custom easy settings for a while, then using the custom menu, pick an aspect of control that you wany to master, then map a control to accomplish that.  Do it slowly, because you will have to remember where all these controls are mapped.  Don't take too big a bite at first.

Another few thoughts,..  you need specifics.  Pitch trim is important, alieron and rudder trim, not so much.  If you are using TrackIR, a button to center it is very handy. Open and close bomb bay doors if you want to bomb something, and of course to drop bombs.  I do that a lot on the uninhabited multiplayer servers.  If you fly Soviet planes, you need an accessible button to activate the goofy  brake/rudder steering system, otherwise you will just spin in circles on the taxiway.